My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

Acorn Knocks Out Umpire In First Round Of District


The 1-A 7-West Sr. High District Basketball Tournament kicked off last night, at Acorn High School.

In the first game of the evening, the Dierks Outlaws defeated the Mt. Ida Lions. Following, the Kirby Lady Trojans defeated the Umpire Lady Wildcats by a score of 67-26.

For the last game Monday night, the Acorn Tigers took on the Wildcats of Umpire.

Both teams kept the game neck and neck in the first quarter, before Aaron Bissell shot a jumper at the buzzer, to put Acorn on top 13-11 after one. The Tigers started to pull away in the second quarter of play, outscoring Umpire 17-9, to take a ten point, 30-20, lead into halftime.

Pinson, number 35, led the Wildcats with 11 points at halftime, while Leo Jacinto led Acorn with 12 points.

Acorn continued to extend their lead in the third quarter, forcing the Wildcats to call a timeout with 1:06 left in the quarter, down by 16 points, 52-36. After the timeout, Umpire went on to score two buckets, but Logan Frost made an easy layup at the buzzer to put the Tigers up 14 points, 54-40, at the end of three. Nothing changed in the final quarter of play, as Acorn extended their lead up to 21 points with just a few minutes remaining in the game. When the final buzzer rang, the Tigers defeated Umpire by 17 points, 73-56.

Pinson led the Umpire Wildcats with 31 points through the night, while Kesterson chipped in 14 points of his own, Vaughn 9 points and Strasner 2 points.

Leo Jacinto led the Acorn Tigers with 20 points, as Tyler Bates added on 17 points, Aaron Bissell 14 points, Zak Abbott 7 points, Logan Frost 6 points, Matthew Chaney 4 points, Josh Swint 3 points and Daniel Cottrell 2 points.

The Acorn Tigers will face the Kirby Trojans in the second round, Thursday night at 5:20 p.m. on the campus of Acorn High School.  The hometown, Acorn Lady Tigers who received a bye, will play their first round in District action Thursday at 4:00 p.m. against the winner of the Mt. Ida versus Mineral Springs game.

Share This Post