Breaking News

Arkansas Primaries

The Arkansas Primaries are Tuesday, May 22nd. Polls will open at 7:30 am and remain open until 7:30 pm. To vote in the election, you must be a US Citizen, Arkansas resident, age 18, not presently adjudged mentally incompetent, not convicted of a felony without having your sentence discharged or pardoned, and not claiming the right to vote in another county or state. Photo ID will be required to vote and the ID needs to be government issued. If you need some form of legal ID, the County Clerk’s office can issue one and there is no charge.

On election day you will need to specify which primary you want to vote in and be prepared to tell the poll worker. You can vote in the Republican or Democrat primary, but not both.

Early voting will continue until 5:00 pm Monday, May 21st.

While there are no local contested races in the primaries, there are some races of importance. There are contested Republican and Democrat candidates for Governor, Secretary of State, the Fourth Congressional District, and non-partisan judicial positions.

Sample ballots are available from the County Clerk’s office. Voter’s guides published by the Arkansas Family Council are available by mail (while supplies last) or online at

Polling locations in Polk County are:

Precinct 1 & 2 – Mena Street Fire Station on South Mena Street

Precinct 3 – De Queen Street Fire Station

Acorn – Acorn High School

Ink and Cherry Hill – Concord Baptist Church at Ink

Big Fork – Big Fork Community Center

Dallas Valley – Dallas Valley Fire Station

Shady Grove – Shady Grover Fire Station

Rocky – Mountain Fork Church

Potter – Bethel Baptist Church

Hatfield  – Hatfield Town Hall

Cove – Cove Town Hall

Vandervoort – Vandervoort Community Center

Wickes – Wickes Town Hall

Grannis – Grannis Town Hall.

The Mena mayoral race will be on the November 6th General Election ballot since the Mena elected officials are by choice non-partisan. There will also be a contested race on the General Election ballot for Justice of The Peace District One, Justice of The Peace District 11, and Polk County Coroner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *