Breaking News

Bearcats Host Post Season Awards Banquet


On Sunday, November 12th, the Mena Bearcats senior high football team hosted their post season awards banquet at First Baptist Church in Mena.

Cody Bollmeyer was awarded the 7th grade Defensive MVP, Noah Defrenchi won the 7th grade Offensive MVP award, and Jayden Felix won the 7th grade Overall MVP award.

For the Junior High team awards, Coy House was awarded the Defensive MVP, Max Montgomery the Offensive MVP, and Mason Brotherton the Overall MVP award.

Mena seniors who were awarded memorable footballs include Zack “Gopher” Wyant, Nick Phelps, Tanner Kiser, Nick Kent, Jake McCauley, Christian Kieren, Carson Cannon, Issac Buckley, Ryan Lee for filming, and Maddie Fletcher for contributing as H2O Coordinator.

Carson Cannon was awarded the Barnabas Award by Dr. Richard Lochala, as a player who was a leader and showed courage throughout the season.

Nick Phelps was awarded the Brandon Burlsworth award by Coach Pennington for being the hardest working player for the Bearcats.

Zion Barnes was awarded the Senior High Defensive MVP and named an All-Conference player.

Justin Dean was awarded the Senior High Offensive MVP, Senior High Overall MVP, and awarded All-State honors. Coach Harper stated that Dean was the “number one vote getter” for All-State honors by coaches in the 7-4A. Dean was also awarded his number twenty-three game jersey.

Marc Wilson was named as an honorable mention for All-Conference honors.

Coach Harper and his coaching staff look forward to offseason and next football season, and mentioned that next year’s team motto abbreviation will be “NYPD”, which stands for “New Year Pride & Discipline”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *