Breaking News


March, 2018

  • 14 March

    Chamber of Commerce and A&P Join Forces

    BY ERICA MELTON – On Wednesday, March 7th, the marketing contract between the Mena Polk County Chamber of Commerce and the Mena Advertising and Promotion Commission was finalized. The previous Marketing Director, Donnie Crain, vacated his position as of January 1, 2018, and the position has been empty.  Since Mr. Crain put in his notice last fall, AP has been ...

  • 14 March

    Rich Mountain Announces New Mascot

    BY: ERICA MELTON On Tuesday March 13, 2018 the University of Arkansas at Rich Mountain held a press conference to announce the new college mascot. The college conducted a thorough nomination and selection process to choose the mascot that best represents the region, and decided on the Rich Mountain Bucks. Mena native Amelia Loftin, who is now President and Creative ...

  • 14 March

    Air Force Training Mission at Mena Airport

    BY ERICA MELTON – On March 8th, Little Rock Air Force Base conducted a training mission at Mena Intermountain Municipal Airport. The training mission consisted of three C-130 aircrafts, with six people on each craft. The planes arrived around 4:30 p.m. and conducted tactical approaches for about an hour. After sunset, they went back out for more maneuvers in the ...

  • 9 March

    Mena Regional Health System Raises Awareness about Colorectal Cancer

    March is Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month, an opportunity to share the dangers of the third most common type of cancer in men and women, resulting in nearly 50,000 deaths per year. It is the second leading cause of cancer deaths in the United States. But this disease is highly preventable, by getting screened beginning at age 50. Colorectal cancer usually ...

  • 7 March

    Union Bank Announces Promotions

    Philip Hensley, President & CEO, Union Bank of Mena has announced the promotion of several team members. Kevin Williams has been promoted to Chief Risk Officer of Union Bank of Mena and Union Bankshares, Inc., the holding company for Union Bank of Mena and First National Bank at Paris. Williams, who has been with Union Bank for fourteen years, previously ...

  • 7 March

    Gilbert Files for Re-Election

    Tawana Gilbert has filed for re-election to the position of Justice of the Peace, District Eleven.  Tawana has represented the citizens of district Eleven since 2009 and will continue to work to maintain fiscal responsibility in our county government and to improve Polk County infrastructure and facilities.

  • 7 March

    Neugent Announces Bid for Re-Election to Polk County Quorum Court

    Jim Neugent has filed for re-election to the Polk County Quorum Court, District 2.  His years of financial experience make him an asset to the Quorum Court as he has served as chairman of the Budget and Finance Committee for the past several years. “The number one job of the Quorum Court is to manage the taxpayers money and I ...

  • 7 March

    Mena Moving Forward with Main Street Arkansas Program Application

    The Mena Downtown Partners group recently met with representatives from the Arkansas Main Street program to discuss plans for Mena to join the program to help preserve the history of and promote downtown Mena. About two dozen people representing downtown businesses, civic and government leaders attended the meeting at American Artisans on Mena Street. Greg Phillips is the executive director ...

  • 7 March

    Chamber Welcomes Chris Thrailkill

    SUBMITTED – The Polk County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce its newest Chamber Ambassador, Christopher Thrailkill. Chris is the son of Krystal and Judge Danny Thrailkill of Mena. He recently moved back to Mena from Fayetteville, and is the Client Advisor for Arvest Bank. Chamber Ambassadors are volunteer members of the Chamber who graciously donate their time to ...

  • 7 March

    Chamber Community Awards

    Voting for the 2018 Community Awards is happening now, and ends on March 14th. Voting categories are: Citizen of the Year, in which nominees are Linda Johnson, Sarah Curry, Scott Sawyer, Sandra Thomas, Mark Hobson, and Chris Daniel; Volunteer of the Year, with nominees Brian Hensley, Tina Ball, Tiffany Lane, Shelly Harvey, and Shannon Clifford; Best Renovation/Beautification with nominees Vision ...