Breaking News


November, 2017

  • 15 November

    UA Rich Mountain Students Learn About Financial Planning

    On November 9th, UA Rich Mountain students enrolled in the Personal Finance class, taught by Lisa Rackley, were provided “real world” experience by guest speaker, Ginger Sterner. Ginger is a Financial Advisor for Edward Jones Investments and her office is located in the Northside Shopping Center in Mena. Topics presented included: personal investments, buying stocks and mutual funds, Wall Street, ...

  • 15 November

    Holly Harshman Competes in Quiz Bowl

    Holly Harshman Elementary 4th graders competed in the Ashdown Invitational Quiz Bowl on Thursday, November 9th, against eight other teams. They were undefeated all day and went on to capture 1st place for the competition. Pictured: (Back Row, Left to Right) Dax McMellon, Lynlee Cook, Braxton McMillan, Eli Swall; (Middle, Left to Right) Jake Sherer, Makenzie Vega, Denton Warner; (Front Row, ...

  • 15 November

    Acorn Elementary Announces October Students of the Month

    Ouachita River School District has announced their October Students of the Month from Acorn Elementary School.  Students chosen have displayed excellent citizenship, exceptional academic effort/improvement, and good attendance. Simple Simon’s Pizza, Goss Electronics, and Laark Enterprises provided lunch and games. Pictured are: Front Row: Troy Huff, Kindergarten, son of William Huff; Kasen Strother, 1st grade, son of Dakota and Kala ...

  • 8 November

    Mena Schools Learn Bus Safety

    Mena Public Schools recently celebrated Bus Safety Week on their campuses. James Davis, supervisor of the transportation department at Mena Schools, and his staff spent the week teaching students and teachers how to safely ride aboard a school bus, how to safely evacuate the bus in case of an emergency, and other safe habits. Pictured: School Resource Officer Jessie Curry ...

  • 8 November

    Louise Durham Announces First Ever Fall Carnival Royalty

    For the first time in Louise Durham School history, they had a king and queen contest during their annual Fall Festival. Four couples were chosen from each grade as king and queen and each class held fundraisers to determine an overall winner based on sales. Jaxon Perez, Pre-K, was crowned overall King and Austin Melius, Kindergarten, was crowned overall Queen.

  • 8 November

    MHS Prepping for Joseph, Technicolor Dreamcoat Performances

    CONTRIBUTED BY ANDY PHILPOT – As the calendar shifts to November, less than two weeks remain until the Mena High School Theatre Department will take the stage to perform their production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. After weeks of preparation, rehearsals, and dedication, the cast and crew will be ready to showcase this memorable musical at the MHS ...

  • 3 November

    School Lunch Menus: November 6-10, 2017

    Acorn Public Schools: Monday Breakfast: Variety cereal, breakfast pizza, parfait, fruit, juice, milk. Lunch: Elementary: Bean & cheese burrito, frito chili pie, spanish rice, fruit, salad bar, milk. High School: Bean & cheese burrito, frito chili pie, baked potato bar, spanish rice, fruit, salad bar. Tuesday Breakfast: Variety cereal, biscuit, sausage & cheese, jelly, parfait, fruit, juice, milk. Lunch: Elementary: ...

  • 1 November

    UA Rich Mountain Hosts Calculator Workshops

    The University of Arkansas Rich Mountain Math & Science Department and TRiO Student Support Services Program hosted a graphing calculator workshop on October 4th & 6th for the fall 2017 semester.  The winner of the graphing calculator door prize was Breanna Lewis. For more information about the graphing calculator workshops, contact Student Support Services at 479-394-7622 or follow on Facebook at Pictured, l to ...

  • 1 November

    Miss Polk County Awarded UA Rich Mountain Scholarship

    Each year, the University of Arkansas Rich Mountain provides a scholarship to the reigning Miss Polk County. On September 30th, Hannah McDonald was crowned Miss Polk County for the 2017-2018 year and was awarded a scholarship to UA Rich Mountain to be applied toward tuition, fees, & books. Hannah is a junior at Mena High School and plans to pursue ...

  • 1 November

    MHS Hosts 2017 Halloween Lab

    Mena High School hosted its 2017 Halloween Lab on October 25, in the MHS Science Wing. The free bi-annual event was packed with STEAM-ed activities, spanning the categories of Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math, fit for students and adults of all ages. “We had over 120 people come through and enjoy the special bi-annual event. It was put on ...