My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

Hays Receives Perkins Community Service Award

Annette Hays, Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) teacher at the Acorn School, Ouachita River District in Mena, has been honored as the Arkansas ACTE (Arkansas Association for Career and Technical Education) recipient of the FACS Carl Perkins Community Service and the AATFACS (Arkansas Association of Teachers of Family and Consumer Sciences) Carl Perkins Community Service Award for the state of Arkansas.  Arkansas ACTE encompasses all of the technical school disciplines, such as agriculture, business, and family and consumer sciences.  Both awards were presented to Ms. Hays at the state conference held in Hot Springs on July 28-29.  She was recognized for extraordinary contributions toward community service projects and promotion of career and technical education as a classroom teacher and Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Advisor to her students. Recipients of the state awards must be involved members of ACTE and AATFACS. The honoree must have made significant contributions toward innovative, unique and novel programs and have shown a professional commitment. A dossier and an interview were part of the selection process for these awards.  Selection for the Arkansas ACTE Carl Perkins Community Service award qualifies Ms. Hays to attend the ACTE Regional conference in Little Rock in April for consideration for the six-state ACTE regional award. Hays stated that she is sharing this award with students who have made notable community service contributions, such as past Acorn FCCLA President Erica Goss and current Acorn FCCLA President Jared Standridge.


Share This Post