Breaking News

JP’s Sworn-In; Scott Honored


The Polk County Quorum Court held their first meeting of the year on Tuesday night, January 3rd. Justices of the Peace were officially sworn in for the year by County Clerk Terri Harrison. JP’s also passed an ordinance determining the time and location of their meetings for the year. Each meeting will be held on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 6 p.m. at the Polk County Office Complex.

As per state law, the court must meet within the first five days of the new year to determine the time and location of their meetings for the year. Due to the early meeting, their next meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 28th.

Justices of the Peace for Polk County are: Benjamin Finley, JP District 1; Jim Neugent, JP District 2; Harold Coogan, JP District 3; Margo Kimp, JP District 4; Troy Lunsford, JP District 5; Terry Terrell, JP District 6; Tommy Floyd, JP District 7; Terry Scott, JP District 8; Basil Kesterson, JP District 9; Mitchell Tidwell, JP District 10; and Tawana Gilbert, JP District 11.

JP Harold Coogan presented a resolution honoring JP Terry Scott who, as of Tuesday, has served on the Polk County Quorum Court for 40 years consecutively.

The Quorum Court as it exists today, was formed on January 3, 1977 with both JP Coogan and JP Scott serving on the original Court, although Coogan took a brief break from serving in the 1980’s. Look for more on JP Scott’s 40 years of service in an upcoming issue of The Polk County Pulse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *