Breaking News

Lou Ella Callahan

Lou-Callahan-1Lou Ella Callahan, age 88, of Mena, Arkansas passed away Tuesday, October 13, 2015 in Mena.

Lou was born in Broaddus, Texas on August 21, 1927 to the late Samuel Monroe Tarver and the late Sarah Nona McKeiphen Tarver. She was married to the late Herman “Corkey” Callahan for 66 years, until his passing in 2010.  Lou worked in the sheriff’s office with her husband serving as deputy sheriff, tax collector, several grocery stores, and Teague Leather Factory, while taking care of her family. Lou loved to sew, do yardwork, and was a great cook and attended Union Mission Church. She was a loving and kind mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, sister, and friend to all who knew her. She will be missed dearly.

She is survived by sons, Kenneth Callahan and wife Kein of Norman, Oklahoma, Tommey Callahan and wife Lisa of Mena, Arkansas; daughters, Betty Collinsworth and husband Burl of Mena, Arkansas, Lynda Conant and husband Jerry of Riverside, California; siblings, John Ruben Tarver, Henry Tarver, Lillie Bob Baumann, Essie Mae Stanley, all of Texas; grandchildren, Tink Hampton of Norman, Oklahoma, Billy Ray McClain of California, Toni Blouch of Norman, Oklahoma, Mason Johnston and wife Jessica of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Allie Summit and husband Zack of Mena, Arkansas; great-grandchildren, Olivia Hampton and Piper Hampton of Norman, Oklahoma, Trayne Blouch of Norman, Oklahoma, Dieslynn Summit of Mena, Arkansas, Landry Johnston of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

She was preceded in death by her parents, Samuel and Sarah Tarver, her husband, Herman “Corkey” Callahan, granddaughter, Amanda Callahan.

Funeral services will be Friday, October 16, 2015, 2:00 p.m. at Beasley Wood Chapel with Brother Lewis Martin and Brother Billy Nash officiating. Interment will follow in the Gann Cemetery in Potter under the direction of the Beasley Wood Funeral Home of Mena.

Family and friends visitation will be Thursday, October 15, 2015 from 6:00-8:00 p.m. at Beasley Wood Funeral Home of Mena.

Pallbearers are Dale McLain, Bill McLain, Arnold Wilcox, Dwight Douglas, Tim Masters and Byron Clark.

Honorary pallbearers will be Ronnie Johnson and Tommy Hubbard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *