Breaking News
Mena pediatric cancer survivor Elijah Barnes received the Delta Dental of Arkansas Fellowship Award along with a CARTI Kids Dennis Jungmeyer Scholarship valued at $3,500 during a special ceremony at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion on May 31.  (Pictured, from left: Arkansas First Lady Susan Hutchinson; Barnes; Delta Dental chief financial officer Phyllis Rogers; and Dennis Jungmeyer.)

Mena Pediatric Cancer Survivor Elijah Barnes Receives $3,500 CARTI Jungmeyer Scholarship


Elijah Barnes, 19, of Mena, is among 18 pediatric cancer survivors selected this year to receive Dennis Jungmeyer Scholarships valued at $3,500 each and awarded by the CARTI Foundation in Little Rock.
Presented annually to current or former CARTI pediatric cancer patients, the scholarships are named in honor of Dennis Jungmeyer of North Little Rock.  Jungmeyer is a CARTI Foundation Board Member and prostate cancer survivor.
Recipients of the 20th annual CARTI Kids Dennis Jungmeyer Scholarship Awards were honored at a special presentation ceremony held May 31 at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock.  First Lady Susan Hutchinson assisted Jungmeyer in presenting scholars with their awards.
Diagnosed with neuroblastoma at the age of three, Barnes is currently enrolled at the University of Arkansas – Rich Mountain where he is majoring in theatre with a minor in music.  He is the son of Katherine and Jason Barnes of Mena.
Barnes also received recognition as the recipient of the Delta Dental of Arkansas Fellowship Award.  Presented for study in the liberal or creative arts, the award is sponsored by Delta Dental of Arkansas in Sherwood.
In addition to Barnes, other 2017 Jungmeyer Scholarship recipients include:  Heidi Abston, of Searcy; Brayden Beshears, of Greenwood; Lucas Cauthren, of Subiaco; Creed Chapman, of Norfork; Shelby Clinton, of North Little Rock; Spencer Ewing, of Little Rock; Haley Goodwin, of Conway; Ty Granberry, of New Boston, TX; Keori Guinn, of Hot Springs; Cheryl Harp, of Bentonville; Caleb Loe, of Prescott; Patrik Rollefson; Breanna Stoufer, of Fort Smith; CheyAnn Trantham, of Conway; Tasha Turner, of Pocahontas; Chase Wellenberger, of England; and Kirsten Worley, of Benton.
Mark V. Williamson and John Youngblood were named as recipients of the 2017 Z. Lynn Zeno Award in recognition of outstanding philanthropic leadership and volunteerism on behalf of CARTI Kids.
CARTI is a not-for-profit, multi-disciplinary cancer care provider offering medical and surgical oncology, diagnostic radiology, and radiation oncology at locations throughout the state to provide convenient access for cancer patients.  Chemotherapy is offered in Little Rock, North Little Rock, Benton, Clinton, Conway, El Dorado, Heber Springs, Monticello, Russellville and Stuttgart. Radiation therapy is offered in Little Rock, North Little Rock, Conway, Mountain Home and Searcy.
The CARTI Foundation was incorporated in 1983 as a non-profit organization to assist CARTI in meeting the current and future needs of Arkansas cancer patients and their families.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *