Breaking News

School Board Election Nears


The 2017 Annual School Election will be held on September 19, 2017 for all three county districts – Cossatot River, Mena, and Ouachita River. Absentee Ballots are currently available at the Polk County Clerk’s office, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. The deadline to request an absentee ballot is September 12.

Although each district has several expiring positions on their respective boards, there are no contested races in the Mena School District or the Cossatot River School District. Those two school districts will not open any polling places on Election Day.  Voting will be conducted by early and absentee voting only for voters in the Mena School District and in the Cossatot River School District. Terms for Todd Aynes and Robby Hines are expiring on the Mena School Board. The terms expiring on Cossatot River are for Mark Duggan and Brian Rusty Youngblood.

The Ouachita River School District will have one contested school board race in Zone 5 and will have a polling place on Election Day at both the Acorn Campus and the Oden Campus. There are four terms expiring on the Ouachita River Board, they are: Jason Neugent, Lana Philpot, Robby Strother, and Gene Monk. The contested race for Zone 5 is between Robby Strother and Annette Hays.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *