Breaking News
Brad Storey receives Lifetime Achievement Award, The “LEDA” From Judy Kropp

Thespians Honored at Benson Awards


With the festive air generated by the Hawaiian theme and the anticipation of the nominees and the audience, the 2015-2016 season Benson Award Ceremony got underway Saturday at the OLT.  Thirty-five awards were up for grabs.  The evening started with music provided by the Ouachita Strings, as the attendees snacked on Hawaiian themed finger foods.  At the appointed time OLT President, Rudi Timmerman, welcomed the attendees and thanked Linda Johnson for her hard work organizing the event.  He then introduced the evening’s master of ceremonies, Don Martin.  The awards were announced interspersed with Don’s quips and humor, as well as short video clips from the nominated shows.  One thing became abundantly clear: There are many talented people in our area who are willing to give of their time to provide a variety of quality entertainment.  Furthermore, these talented folks have a place to showcase their talent through the generosity of OLT’s members and donors.

Here are the results of the 2015-2016 Benson Awards:

First recognized were all the youth who participated in all the OLT productions during the seasons.  They received a medal for their efforts.

Brad Story was presented the Lifetime Achievement award for his 20 years of service to the OLT.  This one award is voted on by the OLT Board.  The rest of the categories are voted on by the 180 current members of the Ouachita Little Theatre who returned their ballots.  Nominees for the awards are selected by the directors of the shows and subsequently placed on the ballot sent to all the members.

Best Overall Play for the 2015 and 2016 Season – Dixie Swim Club

Ouachita Little Theatre Family of the Year – The Burt Family


Dixie Swim Club and Dearly Beloved

Best Leading Actor – Lamar Austin in Dearly Beloved

Best Leading Actress – Denni Longoria in Dearly Beloved

Best Supporting Actor – Chris Kuskie in Dearly Beloved

Best Supporting Actress – Jessica Kropp in Dixie Swim Club

Best Set Design – TJ Thompson in Dearly Beloved

Best Lighting – Robby Burt for Dearly Beloved

Best Director – Judy Kropp for Dixie Swim Club

Best Spring Play – Dixie Swim Club


You’re a Good Man Charley Brown and Oliver

Best Overall Performance – April Burt in Oliver

Best Leading Actor – Scotty Jenkins in Oliver

Best Leading Actress – Alexa Night in Oliver

Best Supporting Actor – Will Hose in Oliver

Best Supporting Actress – Amanda Baker in Oliver

Best Set Design – Rudi and Lorraine Timmerman for Oliver

Best Lighting – Robby Burt for Oliver

Best Costumes – Logan Sweeten for Oliver

Best Sound – Ruby Green for Oliver

Best Choreography – Gini Burt for Oliver

Best Stage Manager – Jessica Kropp for Oliver

Best Director – Rudi Timmerman for Oliver

Best Musical Play – Oliver


The Foreigner, The Penultimate Problem of Sherlock Holmes, and Eb Scrooge

Best Leading Actor – Scotty Jenkins in The Foreigner

Best Leading Actress – Linor Thomas in Eb Scrooge

Best Supporting Actor – Will Hose in Eb Scrooge

Best Supporting Actress – Katelin Haines in The Foreigner

Best Set Design – Robby Burt for The Foreigner

Best Lighting – Ruby Green for Eb Scrooge

Best Costumes – Judy Thompson The Foreigner

Best Sound – Marvin Glenn for Eb Scrooge

Best Choreography – Linda Johnson for Eb Scrooge

Best Stage Manager – Makayla Kenyon-Ortiz for Sherlock Holmes

Best Director – Robby Burt for The Foreigner

Best Fall Play – The Foreigner

In two years, the 2017-2018 Benson Awards will showcase Southern Hospitality, Mary Poppins, Hamlet, 4 Weddings and an Elvis, Godspell, and Miracle Worker.  It is hoped you will join OLT, attend all these great shows, and vote for your favorite in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *