Breaking News

Town of Hatfield Receives Rural Community Grant


The Town of Hatfield has been awarded a $15,000 grant through the Arkansas Rural Development Commission that will allow them to build restroom areas in their city park.

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Executive Vice President of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $351,763.44 to 31 rural communities at a recent awards ceremony held at the Hot Springs Convention Center. The communities were selected for funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program’s Cycle II of fiscal year 2017.

Mayor Denton and husband, Larry, who is also a member of the city council, were in attendance at the ceremony to receive the grant award on behalf of the Town of Hatfield.

AEDC (Arkansas Economic Development Commission) Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in two cycles each year.  Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office.

For more information about Rural Services and their grant programs contact Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.