Breaking News

2019 Hall of Honor Class Announced At University of Arkansas

(FAYETTEVILLE)  Fifteen former Arkansas Razorback athletes have been named to the University of Arkansas 2019 Hall of Honor Class.

The class includes former baseball pitcher Kevin Campbell; former football players Dick Cunningham, David Dickey and Hal McAfee; basketball player James Cathcart, Joe Johnson; tennis players Aurelija Miseviciute; track & field athletes Wallace Spearmon Jr., LaShaunte’a Moore and Lee Yoder; softball player Tiffany Woolley Moyer; and swimmer Martin Smith, a three-time All-American swimmer who also kicked for the Arkansas’ football team.

The most notable athletes in the class is former NBA great Joe Johnson and former Olympic sprinter Wallace Spearmon Jr. who headline the latest 15-member class.

The 2019 Hall of Honor class will be inducted during a ceremony September.13th  at the Fayetteville Town Center, and will be recognized during halftime of the Razorbacks’ football game against Colorado State on September 14th.

Johnson, a Little Rock native, averaged 16 and 14.2 points per game during his two seasons with the Razorbacks from 1999-2001. Johnson was a seven-time all-star in 18 NBA seasons.

Johnson scored 20,405 points as a professional, which ranks 42nd on the NBA’s career scoring list.

Spearmon, a Fayetteville native, was a two-time national champion at Arkansas from 2004-05 and later competed for the U.S. in the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

In 2008, Spearmon finished third in the Olympics 200 meters, but was denied a bronze medal when he was disqualified for a lane violation. He was a three-time medalist in the 200 meters at the World Championships, and won a gold medal at the 2007 World Championships as part of the U.S. 400-meter relay team.

Other notable inductees this year include former football receiver Anthony Lucas, whose 2,879 yards are second in Razorbacks history and whose touchdown catch against Tennessee in 1999 gave Arkansas one of its most memorable wins; Tommy Trantham, a three-time All-Southwest Conference defensive back who had an interception return for a touchdown in Arkansas’ 1965 victory over No. 1 Texas; and David Lingmerth, a two-time All-SEC golfer who won a PGA Tour event in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *