Breaking News

Boozman Named Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police Legislator of the Year

BENTON – The Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police (AACP) honored U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) for his support of the law enforcement community with its ‘Legislator of the Year’ award during a stop on the #EverySecondCounts tour.

“I am honored to received this recognition from the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police. This organization is crucial to Arkansas law enforcement who face the challenges of today. They implement best practices and encourage professionalism throughout their departments. The men and women of Arkansas law enforcement put their lives on the line every day to protect our communities. They are true leaders who are dedicated to public safety and I offer my humble appreciation for their bravery,” Boozman said.

“The Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police is proud to recognize Senator Boozman for his support of the law enforcement community. I appreciate the open dialogue we have as we all work to keep our communities safe. He’s been a great help to our endeavors,” Benton Police Chief Kirk Lane said.

Boozman was announced as AACP’s Legislator of the Year during the association’s 49th annual convention in September. The recipient is determined by members of AACP’s legislative committee. Members nominate legislators who have gone above and beyond to hear their concerns, work with them and help pass legislation that benefits law enforcement so they can better serve the people of Arkansas. Boozman is the first federal legislator to receive this honor.

Boozman formally accepted the award on Monday while visiting the Benton Police Department during his #EverySecondCounts tour, a week-long tour across the state to hear from and thank Arkansas first responders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *