Breaking News
Bob Connell with the Arkansas Broadcasters Association presenting award to Senator John Boozman at the ABA's Annual Convention

Senator John Boozman Named 2017 “Arkansan of the Year” by the ABA


The Arkansas Broadcasters Association recently named Senator John Boozman as its “Arkansan of the Year” for 2017. Senator Boozman accepted the award during the group’s Awards Banquet at its Annual Convention.

The award is presented to a person who has made significant contributions to residents of Arkansas. In presenting the award, the ABA noted that Senator Boozman has always worked closely with Arkansas Broadcasters on issues affecting the industry, including signing on as a sponsor of the Radio Freedom Act which fights efforts to attach another “performance tax” to music played on radio and TV stations.

Past recipients of the, “Arkansas of the Year” were: Johnny Cash, John Paul Hammerschmidt, Lou Holtz, Governor Bill Clinton, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Don Tyson, Patty Upton, Colin Raye, Senator David Pryor, Senator Dale Bumpers, Senator Blanche Lincoln, Senator Tim Hutchinson, Jerry Jones, Governor Mike Huckabee, Richard Davies, James L. “Skip” Rutherford, Jermain Taylor, Claiborne Deming, and Governor Mike Beebe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *