Breaking News

Local Couple Receives Governor’s Arts Awards


Each year the Arkansas Arts Council selects eight recipients for the Governor’s Arts Awards. This year, one of the awards recognized Sam and Barbara Tobias for the Arts Community Development Award because of their long-time work with our local Mena Art Gallery. Other recipients were:

Thom Hall, Little Rock, Lifetime Achievement Award

Art Porter Music Education, Inc., Little Rock, Arts in Education

Wright, Lindsey & Jennings LLP, Little Rock, Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts

Freda Cruise Hardison, Mountain View, Folklife Award

Reese Rowland, Little Rock, Individual Artist Award

Johnelle Hunt, Rogers, Patron Award

Max Elbo, Eureka Springs, Judges Recognition Award

Nominations from the public are sent to the Arkansas Arts Council and turned over to an independent panel of art professionals from around the state.

All awards were presented at a luncheon in Little Rock at the Governor’s Mansion in mid-March.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *