My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

OLT Benson Awards Held at The Ouachita Center

(MENA) The Benson Awards were held on Saturday evening, June 1st at The Ouachita Center on the campus of the University of Arkansas – Rich Mountain.

The BIG winners were Tom Sawyer, Miracle Worker and Southern Hospitality and Mary Poppins.

Jerod McPherson, who played Bert in Mary Poppins, won for Best Lead Actor in a Musical.

Lana Gail Coogan won Best Lead Actress in a Musical.

Scotty Jenkins won Best Lead Actor and Amanda Baker for Best Lead Actress in a Comedy.

George Bailey from It’s A Wonderful Life, played by Mike Moe won the Best Lead Actor for a Drama. Meanwhile, Alexa Night won the Best Lead Actress for a Drama.

The three hour event was well attended and was hosted by Polk County Prosecuting Attorney Andy Riner who did an outstanding job in keeping the audience attentive.


Cutline:  Roy Vail received an award from Judy Kropp for h;is contributions to the Ouachita Little Theater at the Benson Awards held on the Mena campus of UA-Rich Mountain.

Share This Post