My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

Polk County Republican Committee Elects New Officers


The Polk County Republican Committee met Monday evening, January 16th at the Polk County Library with a large group in attendance.  First Vice-Chair, Erma Mize, presided in the absence of Chairman John Maddox, who is serving at the State Capitol as newly elected District 20 State Representative.  Officers elected for two year terms for 2017-2018 were:  Chairman, John Maddox, First Vice-Chair, Erma Mize, 2nd Vice-Chair, Gar Eisele, Secretary, Paula Galvan, all for re-election.  Bill Beam replaces Bob Cooney as Treasurer.  Rich Ray chose not to run for re-election on the Election Commission, after serving the party well for ten years.  Two qualified Republican candidates, LaDon Copelin and Gar Eisele, were voted on for Position 2, with LaDon Copelin being elected.  Bernie Mize will continue as Republican Election Commissioner in Position 1.

Recently elected Republican Sheriff, Scott Sawyer was the special speaker. He was introduced by Polk County Judge, Brandon Ellison.  Scott had been asked to speak on the topic of “Awareness” covering several items he had researched.  Those included the rumors we have heard for several years about Muslim camps near Talihina, and several other things that are potential dangers for Polk County, as well as the country.  From his research, it is believed that presently there are no active Muslim camps in Talihina.  However, we should keep informed and be aware of anything questionable going on around us.

“We celebrated our own New Sheriff in Town, Scott Sawyer, for his victory in the election — and his very timely and informative speech with the ultimate treat, pies by Shelton Bolhman,” said Erma Mize.

Share This Post