Area retailers are making preparations for Arkansas’ third “Sales Tax Holiday” this weekend. First passed by Arkansas Legislature in 2011, representatives hope to help Arkansas’ families with rising back to school costs.
Beginning at 12:01 a.m., Saturday, August 3 and ending this Sunday, August 4, 2013, at 11:59 p.m., no state or local sales tax will be collected during this 48-hour window on the sale of: 1.) Clothing and footwear if the sales price is less than $100 per item; 2.) Clothing accessories and equipment if the sales price is less than $50 per item; 3.) School supplies; 4.) School art supplies; and 5.) School instructional materials.