Breaking News

MHS Choir Students Earn All-Region Honors


Thirty Mena High School students traveled to Lakeside High School in Hot Springs on Saturday, October 14, to audition for a spot in the Arkansas Choral Directors Region 3 All Region Honors Choir.  The Mena students competed with over eight hundred students from other schools in Region 3.  Eleven MHS vocalists earned scores which placed them in the prestigious honors choir.

Students who earned positions in the women’s all region choir are:  Sasha Shevchuk, Alto II, 35th chair; Madalyn Turner, Soprano II, 34th chair; Mackenzie McAllister, Alto I, 23rd chair; Brooklyn Beck, Soprano I, 22nd chair; Hannah McDonald, Alto I, 20th chair; Nalu Pruitt, Alto II, 20th chair; Sarah Rose, Soprano I, 5th chair; and Hope Egger, Alto II, 4th chair.

Devin Durham earned second chair, Bass II, in the men’s all region choir.

Students who earned positions in the mixed all region choir are:  Fisher Neufeld, Bass II, 16th chair, and Joseph Blanton, Bass II, 11th chair.

Fisher Neufeld and Joseph Blanton qualified for Arkansas all state choir auditions in February.  All state alternates are Devin Durham, 2nd alternate; Hope Egger, 4th alternate; and Sarah Rose, 5th alternate.

Ferroll “Tammy” Taylor is the choir director at Mena High School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *