My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

Arkansas Hospitals and EMS Recognized at State Capitol for Stroke Patient Care


Little Rock, Ark. – Governor Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Surgeon General Greg Bledsoe joined officials with the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) to recognize healthcare teams for their commitment to excellent stroke patient care.
Today, nine medical facilities received designation as Arkansas Stroke Ready Hospitals (ArSRHs) and eight Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agencies were recognized for participation in a stroke care collaborative pilot program.

Stroke continues to take a significant toll on our state. The most recent data show Arkansas has the fifth highest stroke death rate in the country, with over 45 deaths per 100,000 people every year. Although life-saving treatment is available to reverse the effects of the most common type of stroke, few patients receive medical care in time. If more Arkansas stroke patients arrive at hospitals that are able to provide stroke care within the recommended timeframe, the burden of this disease could be significantly diminished.

Arkansas’s stroke system of care consists of Joint Commission certified Primary Stroke Centers and ADH designated ArSRHs. Hospitals designated as ArSRHs are capable of providing time-critical care to the stroke patient, including initial emergency evaluation, real-time stroke assessment and treatment through telemedicine.

Hospitals recognized with the ArSRH designation partner with both EMS and the Arkansas Trauma Communications Center (ATCC) to improve outcomes by helping ensure stroke patients are rapidly transported to the most appropriate hospital. EMS providers screen patients with standardized protocols to effectively recognize stroke and make sure patients receive the right kind of care. EMS participating in the pilot contact the ATCC where dispatchers access a real-time dashboard for routing stroke patients to the most suitable hospital based on capacity and distance from the patient.

After the stroke care pilot program is evaluated at the end of January 2017, the ADH hopes to expand the ArSRH designation to hospitals statewide.

Hospitals recognized with the ArSRH designation include:
Baptist Health Medical Center – Arkadelphia
Baptist Health Medical Center – Heber Springs
Baptist Health Medical Center – Hot Spring County
Baptist Health Medical Center – Stuttgart
Five Rivers Medical Center (Pocahontas, AR)
Mercy Hospital Booneville
Mercy Hospital Ozark
Mercy Hospital Paris
Mercy Hospital Waldron

EMS agencies recognized for participation in the EMS stroke care collaborative program include:
Baptist EMS
Franklin County EMS
LifeNet EMS
Logan County EMS
NorthStar EMS
ProMed Ambulance
Southern Paramedic
SouthWest EMS

Visit for more information on stroke prevention in Arkansas.

Share This Post