Breaking News

Buck Wins Talimena 13.1, Acorn Cross Country Sets New Race Record

Clint Buck, a 17-year old junior at Mena High School, was the overall winner at this year’s Talimena 13.1 Run & Relay that saw more than ??? competitors make the trek to the top of Rich Mountain from Janssen Park. The 13.1 miles uphill made for a daunting task for many but was a grand competition for all.

Buck ran the race in 1:53:11 (1 hour, 53 minutes, 11 seconds). Coming in behind Buck was Philip Lance, of Mena, in 2:02:22, which place him first in his age category, 40-44, just ahead of Bryan Wortham of Yukon, Olkahoma. Third place overall was claimed by Kenneth Butler, of Mena, in 2:03:06, which also placed him first in his age division, 45-49.

In the men’s 30-34 division, Shawn Blickenstaff, of Springdale, placed first, followed by Adam Lott, of Mena. In the 45-49 division, behind Kenneth Butler, Robert Misener of Hot Springs placed second and Danny Butler, of Watson, Oklahoma, placed third.

Robert Crawford took first place in men’s 50-54 group; James Barnes claimed first in the 55-59 group; Earl Rutler won the 60-64 division; and Marvin Glenn placed first in the 75-79 category, followed by Greg Bourns.

In the women’s division, Jessia Moe placed first in the women’s 19 & under division, followed by Abbie Smith of Mena, and Christianna and Angelina Moe following. Ashley Kennedy of Talihena won the 25-29 category; Emily Emerson of Mena and Stephanie Adams of Cameron, Oklahoma were first and second in the 30-34 division; Sara Blickenstaff of Springdale won her age group of 35-39, and was also the women’s overall winner. Blickestaff was followed by Michelle Bellomo and Melissa Lewis in her age division.

Sadie Whorton of Hatfield won the 40-44 division and was followed by Michele Baker of Howe, Oklahoma. Shari Misener, Phyllis Bell, and Tammie Cannady were the top three in the 45-49 division; Joan Rendon of Waldron, and Linda Wood of Hot Springs were top runners in the 50-54 category; Debbie Rigsby and Teresa Eagle Road won first and second in the 55-59 women’s division; Tina Bentley won first in the 65-69 division, followed by Betty Sobeski.

Tina Bentley also ran the first leg of the race for the Acorn Cross Country/PCDC Team, which came in first in the overall 13-person relay team standing, in race record time. The team was the first to cross the finish line in 1:37:45. The MHS Football boys placed second and Non-Stop Fitness placed third. Also represented in team standings were Union Bank of Mena, Mena Regional Health System had two teams enter, Pulse Multi-Media, Rich Mountain Community College, Queen Wilhelmina State Park, and PCDC Adult Wellness. In the 4-person relay division, Union Bank of Mena won the top slot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *