My Pulse News

Mena Arkansas News covering Polk County and the surrounding area

Mena High School Students Earn Prestigious Certifications



In an April 2012 report from the US Department of Education, Investing in America’s Future:  A Blueprint for Transforming Career and Technical Education, it was stated that “American employers need a workforce that is skilled, adaptable, creative, and equipped for success in the global marketplace.” Students in Computer Applications and Digital Communications classes at Mena High School taught by Molly Lindsey are gaining the skills necessary for such success by earning Microsoft© Office Specialist and Adobe© Certified Associate certifications. During the first semester, students in these two classes were equipped with the knowledge and skills necessary to earn a certification in Microsoft© PowerPoint and Adobe© InDesign. Nine students earned the prestigious ACA InDesign certificate, which validates entry-level skills needed to plan, design, build, and maintain effective communications by using different forms of digital media. In addition, 18 students earned the MOS PowerPoint certification, which prepares and places job candidates, ensuring they possess the skills employers require. Students in both these classes will have opportunities to earn certifications in more programs in the spring semester.

In an effort to encourage people all across Arkansas to gain these certifications, Certiport has created the MOS National Championship and part of that is the MOS Arkansas Championship, which recognizes the top students in Arkansas. One Mena High School student earned top honors as the winner of the fall qualifier for Microsoft© PowerPoint 2010. Christopher Thompson, a ninth grader, receives an invitation to compete at the National Championship in Orlando, Florida, in June. Ruby Green placed 3rd in the state.

Students who earned the MOS PowerPoint 2010 certification are pictured: Shreetika Gyanwali, Jada Bass, and Christopher Thompson (Arkansas State Champion) on the front row; Mackenzie McAllister, Caroline Morgan, Amber Devries, and Kelcey Lavender on the second row; and Shang Lo, Marcus DeLord, Daniel Green, Joseph Blanton, Miguel Moncada, Payson Law, and Corey Curry on the back row. Not pictured are Ruby Green, Zane Pollard, Jared Holmes, and Xin Shuang Hong.

Students earning the ACA InDesign certification are pictured: (seated) Nathaniel Aleshire, Robert Johnson, Skylar Siebel; (standing) Christopher McCourtney, David Chaney, Devon Aviles, Hattie Hunter, Colton Harmon, and Chase Self.

Share This Post