Breaking News

Airport Commission Elects New Officers


New board officers were elected when Mena Intermountain Airport Commission met Monday afternoon for their regular monthly meeting. Phillip Wilson was elected to serve as Chair for the board. Duane Corcoran will serve as Vice-Chair and newly appointed commissioner, Andy Anderson, will serve as Secretary. In addition to the executive board, other members of the commission are Nancy Wright, Phillip Hensley, Jeff Montgomery, and Roger Crider. Will Robbins serves as the Airport Manager.

Commissioners also heard a report from Morrison Shipley engineer, Brian Maurer, who said the ball is still in the FAA’s court when it comes to the 40-year Master Plan. The Plan was submitted to the FAA in October and the FAA has since asked for an alternate plan on one of the proposed runway projects. Line of sight is an issue on the current plan and the FAA has implemented new rules for runway vision zones, causing engineers to come up with new plans.

Commissioners also approved the high bid for a golf cart they advertised for sale. The winning bid was by Mountain Airframe for $888.

The next Airport Commission meeting is set for Monday, January 11th, at 3 p.m. in the RMCC Board Room.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *